AvSuper is governed by a Trustee (AvSuper Pty Ltd) which has a Board of Directors. As a profit-for-members Fund, the Trustee’s sole purpose is to ensure AvSuper is run and managed for the benefit of members.

The Board consists of eight Trustee Directors, equally representing AvSuper members and employers. Four Trustee Directors are nominated by the Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) as Member Representatives and four Trustee Directors are appointed by Airservices Australia (the Principal Employer) as Employer Representatives. All nominated Directors are then required to undergo a detailed review process conducted by the Trustee to determine that they are “fit and proper” for the role, as defined by legislation, ahead of their appointment to the Trustee Board of Directors.

On 14 October 2009, Ms Christine Goode was appointed as a new Employer Representative Trustee Director of AvSuper (nominated by Airservices Australia). Christine replaces Mr Neal O’Callaghan, who ceased acting as an Employer Representative Trustee Director in September 2009.

Christine has extensive experience and knowledge of the superannuation regulatory framework and member administration. Christine also has strong experience in compliance within superannuation. She previously served on the Boards of Airservices Australia, State Super Financial Services and was a former CEO of ComSuper. The calibre of Christine’s experience means that she will be an invaluable addition to AvSuper’s Board and to members of AvSuper.

On your behalf of the AvSuper Trustee Board, I would like to congratulate Christine on her appointment and wish her well in this role.


David Leggo

Phone 1300 128 751 (Local call)